Dinner

Chicken Parmesan

We have pasta for dinner once a week or so.  I usually make a meat sauce with either bulk sausage or ground beef.  Sometimes I will buy frozen meatballs, they are the kids favorite, and every once in a while I will make chicken to go with our pasta.  My boys aren’t too fond of chicken currently, so I make it sparingly.

Again, not a recipe for you guys today, but a method.

For the chicken, I used thin sliced breast meat, but you can use tenders also or if you don’t want to pay the butcher to thin slice your chicken, you can do it yourself.  I like the thinner pieces of meat because you don’t have to worry as much about your crunchy coating getting too brown before the inside cooks.  If you are interested in cooking a thicker piece of meat, I would fry them and then finish cooking them in the oven on a rack placed over a sheet pan.  That way your coating stays crispy but you can finish cooking the inside.

Okay, once you’ve decided the chicken you want to use, I use a 3 part breading method.  Flour, eggs and bread crumbs.  I always season my flour with garlic powder, onion powder, salt, pepper and paprika.  Then, eggs.  I use two per pound of chicken.  Then the bread crumbs.  I used Panko bread crumbs mixed with grated parmesan cheese. I like to set up my breading station with the flour and breadcrumb mixtures in gallon zip top bags and the eggs in a shallow dish, that way I can throw away the flour and breadcrumbs when I’m finished breading.  You can use it again anyway…

Once my chicken is breaded, I shallow fried it in a skillet with about 1/4 inch of vegetable oil.  Canola oil or coconut oil would also work, I just had vegetable on hand. After the chicken was fried, I placed it on a cooling rack that I had on a sheet pan, topped it with provolone cheese, tomato sauce and mozzarella cheese. Baked it in the oven until the cheese was melted, put it on top of spaghetti and called it a meal!

img_1141

I stopped buying jarred spaghetti sauce a while ago.  I use canned tomatoes and make my own.  My go to is 28oz of crushed tomatoes, 14 oz of diced tomatoes, garlic powder, onion powder, italian seasoning, salt and pepper.  I let it all simmer together while the pasta is cooking.  Add ground beef or sausage to make a meat sauce.  It can sit and simmer for a while if you need it to or you can serve it right away as I tend to.

img_1140

What is your favorite pasta dish?

Leave a Reply

