dessert

Christmas Cake Pops

I’ve been wanting to make cake pops for a while.  I’ve made them before, but it has been years.  Every time I think to make them, I remember how involved they are to make… Baking the cake, mixing the icing in, rolling the balls, inserting the stick and then dipping.  I remember it being a lot of work, so I haven’t made the commitment, cupcakes are just so much easier.

I found a cake pop mold when I was browsing a discount store, it has 5 cavities and it cost $1.99.  I bought it and brought it home several weeks ago, it has been sitting in the cabinet, wanting me to fill it with crumbled cake and frosting.  I finally decided to give it a try… Here are the results!

img_1103

Yes, the top is flat, I set them on parchment paper to harden after dipping the in the white chocolate.  I didn’t think ahead to buy styrofoam to stick them in.  The cake pops are red velvet with cream cheese frosting mixed in and dipped in white chocolate. They taste delicious!

So, how did the cake pop press work?

img_1099

It was very hit or miss.  Out of the 10 I attempted to make, 7 of them turned out and 2 of those were very loose trying to dip.  I don’t know if it was my pressing technique or the composition of my cake balls that caused the issues.  The cake press directions told me to mix in 1/2 to 3/4 can of frosting for one box cake mix, I used the half, so I’m thinking I didn’t have enough frosting to keep all the cake together.  Next time (if there is a next time) I will add more frosting and see if that keeps the pops from crumbling as easily. I also think it would probably be beneficial to refrigerate the cake pops before trying to remove them from the mold, if you have the patience, which I clearly didn’t.

The rest of the cake pop mix I have in ice trays to be dipped in chocolate later.  I’ll be sure to let you know how those turn out too.

Quick tip: Spread your left over chocolate on parchment so you can either turn it into bark by sprinkling candy, nuts and cookies all over the top before it hardens, or let it harden plain and it will be easy to break into pieces to melt again.

img_1102

Cake pops, make or buy?

Mangia!

Leave a Reply

